Does self-employment + parenthood = chaos?

Is self-employment and parenthood compatible? Maybe not for everyone, but for me it certainly is. When most people hear about my businesses they can’t believe I have a baby and toddler at home. I get a lot of “How do you do it?”, “You must never sleep!” and “You must have a live-in nanny!”

Well, I can tell you it’s not easy but it certainly isn’t very hard. I definitely sleep (at least 7 hours, but usually 8 each night). I don’t have a live-in nanny. I don’t have a nanny at all. My children do go to a Spanish immersion preschool two days per week, but the other 5 days they are home. I can honestly say I get way more time with my kids than parents who work “normal” jobs – and I make at least as much as them.

Self-employment isn’t for everyone – but I can honestly say that starting my businesses were the best career-related decisions I’ve ever made. They have enabled me to create countless relationships with amazing nonprofit workers, be home with my children, and fulfill a life-long dream of working for myself.

Deciding to become an entrepreneur is a difficult and life changing decision, but it can help you achieve your goals and dreams – and give you more time with your family than you thought possible. I strongly believe everyone should give it a try if it’s something you are interested in.

In June I’ll be doing a series on starting a business (30 days to Becoming an Entrepreneur) which will highlight my experiences and provide easy to follow steps to starting your own business.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Does self-employment + parenthood = chaos?

  1. As an entrepreneur, and soon to be married, I often wonder how my career choice will someday affect my family. I work from home so I know that will need to be adjusted with kids. I don’t doubt that creating that same work-life balance with children is challenging.

  2. kristencici says:

    Every type of entrepreneurship if different and has its own complications, but I can tell you that it’s going to both positive and negatively impact your family – but it will definitely be more positive than negative. The biggest negative is you are pretty much always working – if a staff member doesn’t show or you have a late night client issue, you have to deal with it sometimes at the expense of your family. But the tradeoff is much more freedom with your schedule, much more enjoyment with your work and life, being a positive role model for your children, and likely having much more time with your children than if you worked a 9-5. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

Leave a Reply

