Pinterest Project: Making Oil Rubbed Bronze Hardware

Which do you think looks better? 🙂 It would have been a million times easier if the furniture I bought came with oil rubbed bronze hardware. Unfortunately, I wasn’t so lucky. That meant I had two choices 1) Buy oil rubbed bronze hardware 2) Make oil rubbed bronze hardware. After researching my options, I found it was much easier to just make them. Particularly with the help of Pinterest 🙂 Fortunately, I was able to recycle the hardware from one of the dressers. I did have to buy some hardware new. As you can see above, using the old wood knobs wouldn’t work.

To embark on this project I needed four things: Spray paint for metal, sandpaper, cardboard, and hardware.

I washed the hardware and prepped it by sanding it.

Then I spray painted them. I did 4-5 coats, all done within 5-10 minutes of each other.

Voila, oil-rubbed bronze hardware! This was such an easy project and totally worth the time. It only took about an hour for everything.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Project: Making Oil Rubbed Bronze Hardware

  1. CJO Photo says:

    Turned out great – I have had to paint hardward to make it work but it has always turned out great and so much less expensive than having to buy all new hardware! Nicely done!

  2. kristencici says:

    Thanks! I definitely agree! Oil rubbed bronze hardware tends to be more pricey, so it was a better deal to just paint them than buy all new.

Leave a Reply

